Tim Breslin Scholarship and Awards



Chicago Wolves defenseman Brent Regner received the 2015 Tim Breslin Unsung Hero Award prior to the Wolves game against Iowa on April 12 at Allstate Arena. The award honors the Wolves player who best exemplifies Breslin’s on-ice spirit, team-first attitude, and community involvement. The Wolves captain became the first player to earn the honor twice.

Breslin, one of the first three players signed by the Wolves after the franchise was formed in 1994, passed away on Feb. 9, 2005, due to complications from appendiceal cancer. The Addison, Ill. native and Driscoll Catholic High School graduate played five seasons for the Wolves and earned a ring as a member of the 1998 Turner Cup Championship squad. Breslin’s family, including his widow, Jami, and their children, Shane, Paige, and Chase, attended the on-ice ceremony for Regner.

“Brent has a quiet demeanor, but he comes to play every day,” said Wolves head coach John Anderson, who coached Breslin for two seasons. “He leads by example. He’s relentless. He never takes a day off.”

Regner repeated as the Breslin Award winner once fans cast their votes on ChicagoWolves.com for the three candidates nominated by the Wolves coaching staff: REGNER, center Pat Cannone, and defenseman Mathieu Brodeur. Bill Sweatt (2013), Mark Matheson (2012), Jaime Sifers (2011), Matt Anderson (2010), Steve Martins (2009), Brian Sipotz (2008), Brian Fahey (2007), Kevin Doell (2006) and Tim Wedderburn (2005) also have earned this honor.

“It’s a great award and a special award here,” Regner said. “I couldn’t have been more honored when they told me I won it again. To be mentioned alongside Tim Breslin is something special.”

2014-15 Tim Breslin Memorial Scholarship Recipient


The 2014-15 recipient of the Tim Breslin Memorial scholarship, awarded annually to a high school senior, was North Boone High School student Emily Foster (left). The Poplar Grove, Ill. resident has persevered and achieved greatly during her high school years while overcoming a hardship, which is the focus of the Breslin Scholarship. Foster is a National Honor Society memnber who has served in student government and played on the varsity vollyball team. She will receive a $7,500 grant toward her college education.

How to apply:

Please check back in November for more information on how to apply for the 2015-16 saeson. For questions, please contact the Chicago Wolves Community Relations Dept. at (847) 832-1953.







Previous Unsung Hero Award Winners

2014 - Brent Regner


2013 - Bill Sweatt

sweatt unsunghero1213

2012 - Mark Matheson



2011 - Jaime Sifers



2010 - Matt Anderson

Center Matt  Anderson


2009 - Steve Martins

Steve Martins


2008 - Brian Sipotz

Brian Sipotz with Jami, Chase, Paige and Shane Breslin


2007 - Brian Fahey



2006 - Kevin Doell