Dan Snyder Man of the Year Award

Undrafted, Dan Snyder (February 23, 1978 - October 5, 2003) was signed by the Atlanta Thrashers as a free agent in 1999. During his time in the minor leagues, he was a member of the International Hockey League champion Orlando Solar Bears in 2000-01 and the American Hockey League champion Chicago Wolves in 2001-02. Called up to the National Hockey League, he scored 10 goals and four assists in 36 games with the Thrashers in 2002-03.

On September 29, 2003, Snyder was critically injured after the Ferrari 360 Modena driven by his teammate, Dany Heatley, struck a wall along Atlanta's Lenox Road. Both players were ejected from the car, which was split in half by the force of the impact. Snyder suffered a fractured skull and internal brain injuries due to the rapid acceleration / deceleration incident. He lapsed into a coma following emergency surgery, and died six days later on October 5.


19 forever in our heartDAN SNYDER MAN OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Dan Snyder Man of the Year Award is given to the Chicago Wolves player who demonstrates the most outstanding dedication to Chicago-area community service each year.

Snyder was a dedicated member of the Chicago Wolves organization off the ice, making numerous appearances in the community and endearing himself to many of the fans who watched him on the ice and met him outside the arena.  During offdays, Snyder made frequent appearances at local libraries to talk to kids about reading through the Wolves "Read to Succeed" program.  He also visited hospitals and appeared at other community events.  Snyder set an example to be followed by future members of the team.

Snyder was just as dedicated on the ice, serving as team captain of his junior team and excelling through hard work as his career progressed.  He made his NHL debut with the Atlanta Thrashers on April 3, 2001, against the Ottawa Senators before tallying two game-winning goals in the Turner Cup Finals for the Orlando Solar Bears, helping them to a 4-games-to-1 victory over the Chicago Wolves. As a member of the Wolves in 2001-02, Snyder continued to score at crucial times, tying an all-time AHL playoff record with five game-winning goals.  With Snyder's help, the Wolves took home their first Calder Cup championship.

The Wolves keep Snyder's memory alive in various ways.  A banner bearing his name hangs permanently from the rafters of the Allstate Arena, while the Wolves continue to raise money for charities associated with him.

Davies Named Wolves 2013-14 Dan Snyder Man Of The Year

1314-davies-snyderawardForward Michael Davies has been named the Chicago Wolves’ Dan Snyder Man of the Year in recognition of his unwavering commitment to Chicago-area charities and the community during the 2013-14 season. He joins Karl Stewart (2004-05, 2005-06) as the only players to receive the honor more than once.

The award is earned by one Wolves player each season in memory of Snyder, who passed away on Oct. 5, 2003, after suffering head injuries in a car accident. Snyder spent the 2001-02 and 2002-03 season with the Wolves and helped the team capture the 2002 Calder Cup championship.

Wolves chairman of the board Don Levin, vice chairman Buddy Meyers, general manager Wendell Young, assistant general manager Bill Bentley, and senior advisor/director of hockey operations Gene Ubriaco presented the 27-year-old DAVIES with the award at Allstate Arena shortly before the team’s April 19 contest against Milwaukee.

“I take a lot of pride in giving back to the community,” DAVIES said. “I’m playing a game that I love and I dreamed about playing pro since I was a kid. You go into the children’s hospitals and you get to see a smile on the kids’ faces, even though they might be battling cancer, and it’s a feeling you just can’t describe.”

DAVIES didn’t just devote his time this season to visiting local children’s hospitals. The four-year Wolves veteran again played a primary role in the Read to Succeed program that works with multiple libraries and thousands of children each year and served a key figure at several Chicago Wolves Charities fundraisers.

“Mike continues to inspire me with his passion for the community and eagerness to give back,” said Courtney Mahoney, the Wolves’ senior vice president of operations. “The energy and compassion he has when we visited patients in the hospital or chatting with fans at Read to Succeed visits is truly infectious. I am so proud of him, and he is so deserving of this honor for a second time in a row.”

Previous Winners

2012-13 Michael Davies


2011-12 Darren Haydar


2010-11 Spencer Machacek

2009-10 Brett Sterling


2008-09 Jordan LaVallee



2007-08 Nathan Oystrick



2006-07 Brian Sipotz



2005-06 Karl Stewart



2004-05 Karl Stewart



2003-04 Kurtis Foster